Kira Joya’s Blog

Light my Fire

Posted in Holistic Healing, WAHM, Yoga by Alissia on November 2, 2009

I took a 5 month hiatus from my blog. I began a yoga teacher training in June and that has occupied most of my free time since. I love it! I’m writing essays again. This time, I am actually learning from them. It takes me about a week to write one five page essay. It’s a bit different from college. The essays I wrote then were written the night before into the wee hours of the morning. Then I had all the time in the world and didn’t know it. Now, essays, readings, and training classes must be scheduled and squeezed in between playing house and dropping Kira off at preschool. Life is different, but life is good!

I have missed the blog though. It is a great way for me to work out my thoughts. I am currently working through some thoughts regarding my website and my creative endeavors. I thought the blog might be a good place to do that. I have come to the conclusion that I am going to change my jewelry to make it more affordable. I want to change it in a way that I can still feed my soul while I am creating it. I’m thinking of bringing yoga into it somehow. I think that is a few months away because I am letting those ideas simmer for awhile to see what I come up with.

I have also decided to make some candles to bring in a little extra money. I bought all the supplies, thinking it was going to be a piece of cake. NOT SO!! I have a very holistic approach to the way I live my life. I thought I would approach candle making in that same way. I bought palm wax from a company that guarantees it is sustainable, harvested in an environmentally sound manner. I chose palm wax because paraffin throws harmful chemicals into the air and soy wax is made from soybeans. Soybeans are almost always genetically modified and I do not want to support that in any way, shape, or form. I also am trying to scent them with essential oils instead of synthetic, chemical fragrances…notice I said trying. Therein lies my problem. I have been experimenting with essential oils (and high quality ones too) for a few weeks now. I can not get my candles to “throw” scent while burning. ARGH!!! It’s driving me nuts and costing me too much money. I am almost to the point of wanting to give in and use chemical fragrances…but no, I can’t. I can’t contribute more chemicals to the world…something just won’t let me. A familiar phrase helps when frustration sets in…if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again. I’m gonna try again a couple more times before I give up. By give up, I mean produce candles that are much more lightly scented than I would like. They will still be cute when I’m through with them. If you have any advice for how to make them more scented without using chemical fragrances, I would be happy to hear it! Wish me luck!

www.condron.us

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mom said, on November 3, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    I love seeing your spirited writing again. It is a breath of fresh air. Is the candle one you made? Beautiful picture! Got a new phone that will allow unlimited minutes at times. Miss you.


Leave a Reply

