Kira Joya’s Blog

I’m Back

Posted in Flowers, Kira, photography, Yoga by Alissia on May 21, 2009

Wow! It’s been quite awhile since I have written. Try as I might, I just can’t keep up with everything. I was completely sidelined by a cold that has been knocking me around since right before mother’s day and is still hanging on. I think that it’s at least partially a detox reaction from all of the things I have been doing to rid myself of the Candida. It’s been about 2 weeks now and I’m feeling better, but am ready for this to be gone!!

I am beginning my year long yoga teacher training course in June. I’m so excited! I know I am going to learn so much. I am debating about whether or not to Blog my essays and experiences. I think it might be good for me, but some topics can be really personal…I’m not sure if I want that displayed all over the internet. I have been thinking that I might do it anonymously…we’ll see. I have already finished my first essay and spoken with the director of the program about the lifestyle changes that I want to make over the course of this year. I have a list of ten personal things that I would like to work on. I am trying to approach this with a completely open mind and by being completely honest with myself. I have barely started the program and yet, the questions pop up. I’m going to hold off on discussing the actual issue that I’m working on right here, but the response was this…that I am in the wrong because I expect too much. I should not have expectations. Yikes! Really? I thought that was part of being human. Humans have expectations. I’m not sure how to live my life without expecting things from people and from events. I guess this will be the first experiment.

The interaction with my new teacher also started me thinking about how much of yogic philosophy comes from a woman’s point of view…my guess is not much, if any. All of the yogis who wrote all of these ancient texts were men, right? Things change a bit when coming from a woman’s perspective. This I know for sure. Women come from a much more feeling – centered place. Would yogic philosophy be different if more women were involved from the beginning? My guess is, yes, a little bit. I am just beginning my yoga journey, so I don’t pretend to know much about yogic philosophy yet. I’m just asking questions…that’s part of any educational journey. One of the things that I learned so well in college was to look deeper…take nothing at face value. I plan to take all of the information like a sponge, absorb what I need, and squeeze out the rest. I think that any path you take needs to be adapted to work for you as a person.

I think that’s all I have to say on that for now. I am realizing that with summer coming and a yoga teacher training starting, I may have less time to work on the blog and website. I’m going to do the best that I can to keep up. Overachiever? Who? Yeah, that’s me. Anyway, this is for my family that may check my blog to see what’s going on, I thought I would share some photos from our Mother’s Day weekend in New Jersey…Gallery style….you can look if you’re not family too. Just click on the photos and they will enlarge.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mom said, on May 28, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    Hi, Sweetie,

    That flower picture that you enhanced reminds me of my psychedelic days in philly:) It is awesome!
    I hope you can find some time to relax. I’ll bet your garden is growing.

    Love you always and ever.


Leave a comment