Kira Joya’s Blog

10 Most Beautiful Semi-Precious Stones

Posted in beads, Jewelry, Semi-precious stones, WAHM by Alissia on April 10, 2009

Alright, the title is a little bit deceiving.  This is actually a list of ten of my favorite semi-precious stones.  There are so many beautiful ones that I had a hard time choosing ten.  I wanted to pick  some stones that I actually had on hand so that I could take pictures and make things a little bit more interesting.  There are some things you need to see to appreciate.

Larimar

Larimar

1. The first one is Larimar. Isn’t it beautiful? I love it!! It truly is one of my favorites. I saw it for the first time when I was on my honeymoon in the Dominican Republic. I saw it in all the shops and needed to find out what it was, so I asked. Unfortunately, Larimar is not widely available, it is only mined in the Dominican Republic. When I returned home I did a little bit of research to see if I could find some beads and I couldn’t at that time. I will try again…I think whatever piece of jewelry I would make from Larimar would be amazing!

Quartz

Quartz

2. Quartz. Why Quartz? It’s so simple…it’s readily available. Something about it is very intriguing…maybe it’s because quartz has so many uses (Quartz crystals are used for healing…it is used in clocks, TVs, radios and beyond.) Look at the photo, you can almost see yourself in it. It’s gorgeous and, from a jewelry makers perspective, it’s very versatile.

Tourmaline

Tourmaline

3. Oooh! Tourmaline. I love tourmaline too! I guess I love them all. Tourmaline has a wide array of colors, I think that’s why I like it so much. My favorite are the Watermelon Tourmaline slices. They do resemble little stone pieces of watermelon…pink on the inside and a rim of green on the outside. There is a lot of pink and green in the regular tourmaline pictured here too. One of my favorite color combos!

Sunstone

Sunstone

4. Sunstone. I really enjoy stones that sparkle. Sunstone has this beautiful warm orange color and it shimmers in the light. It’s difficult to catch that shimmer on camera if you are an amateur photographer like I am…but, trust me, it’s there.

Kyanite

Kyanite

5. Kyanite. Here it is again, the sparkle…this time in blue. There are a few different shades of blue contained within this stone. It’s translucent with an almost pearly shimmer in places. As well as being really beautiful, this stone is also know to have healing properties…some healers use it for chakra balancing. It’s gorgeous and celestial and I will use it in my jewelry pieces time and time again.

Amethyst

Amethyst

6. Amethyst. What girl doesn’t love amethyst? When I shop for materials for a work in progress, I repeatedly find myself in the amethyst section. It’s purple and luminous and delightful!

Apatite

Apatite

7.Apatite. Just look at this color! Doesn’t it make you want to dive in the ocean? I’m calling the color ocean teal and I think that describes it perfectly!

Citrine

Citrine

8. Citrine. For me, Citrine represents sunshine…it’s that crisp, crystal clear yellow. This is another stone that I use quite often and wear quite often. It seems to brighten my day when I put it on. In fact, I have it on right now!

Fluorite

Fluorite

9. Fluorite. The color variety in fluorite is amazing….from pale green to light blue to deep purple. This really is another of my favorite stones to work with. It seems like, no matter what piece I am working on, it turns out beautifully.

Turquoise

Turquoise

10. Turquoise. It whisks you away to the southwest. Once again, the color is fantastic! I myself prefer the natural turquoise colors, but you can also get some really pretty dyed turquoise. A lot of the artists who work with turquoise also do some really breathtaking silver work, which appeals to me. That’s something that I strive for.

Well, there you have it…10 of the most beautiful semi-precious stones….according to me. I could keep going and going. It is amazing to me that these stones all occur in nature in all of these different colors and textures. I really enjoy putting them together in wearable artwork and learning about the stones as I go. I access my creative side and my scientific side at the same time as I build my business. I should be pretty well-rounded, shouldn’t I?

www.condron.us

Leave a Reply

